Transformers

transformers posterMichael Bay is such a soap star.

He looks the part, speaks the part, even makes movies in soap opera style.

Well, not really. His latest movie, Transformers is a far cry from your regular “The Bold and The Beautiful” episode, but some parts just make you cry out in frustration over those misplaced soap parts.

I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me start again.

Transformers was a big hit back in the 80’s. I was one of those kids who watched that show in awe. Unfortunately, though, I was never one of those who were staunch fanatics of those transforming robots (I blame my genetic make-up. I was a girl through and through), so the only characters I remember were Optimus Prime and Megatron, the two opposing leaders of the Autobots and the Decepticons, respectively. Nevertheless, I was just as excited as any other kid who grew up watching this cartoon when I heard about the movie. Day2 of the movie here in Philippine shores saw me in the theater with a bunch of friends, my eyes and ears glued to the big screen.

Does it disappoint? I daresay not. If you’re a purist like me, you probably would be disappointed with the changes in the transformations of the robots. Bumblebee, for example, got a nice “upgrade” from a Volkswagen in the 80’s to a Camaro in this version. However, if you don’t really remember the 80’s cartoon like me, you probably wouldn’t give a chuck about the changes. I most certainly didn’t. I loved Bumblebee as a Camaro; it suited his name, his abilities, hell, he LOOKED good as a Camaro.

What about the rest? Honestly? I couldn’t keep up with who each robot was. I suppose it’s understandable because Optimus Prime and Bumblebee do get the most exposure in the movie, but the rest simply looked indistinguishable to me. But really, I don’t care because the movie simply ROCKED.

A decent plot, and action with well-placed humor. I mean, awesome giant transforming robots plus funnyman Shia LeBeouf. It was just perfect. And Bumblebee working with Shia? The absolute coolest.

Now about that soap star comment. I suppose blockbuster movies need its wee dose of mush, but the ones here were just plain off. The action scenes are doing fine, the characters are all busy fighting off the bad guys when the two main human characters pick a gahd-awful time to get mushy. I mean, COME OOON. Move it already! You’re ruining the pace of the movie!

Mush aside, this movie is one of the best I’ve seen in a long time, and you’ll be damned if you don’t see this one now.

Leave a Reply

