character post #26: Captain Wentworth

Captain Frederick Wentworth

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone forever. I offer myself to you with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago. Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant.”

Have you not read anything more beautiful than this? Wentworth was steadfast in his love. It tore him, no doubt, but his love remained and fate, this time, would help him see it returned.

Leave a Reply

