Timer (2009)

This was an adorable movie. 😀 I wish it had ended a bit differently, though, but it was still pretty decent.

The idea is that you get fitted with a timer that counts down to the days or minutes or seconds till the time you meet your ONE, the person you’ll spend the rest of your life with.

While the idea is interesting, it opens up a whole can of worms in the area of fate vs. free will vs. technology. The movie presents the notion that the world has become such slaves to modern technology that we have lost our will to it. I’ve heard philosophers argue that fate and free will are not contradictions but rather complementary of each other, and because I believe in that argument, too, I must say that this movie is somehow on the disappointing side. Most of humankind is seen dependent on this timer for love, so much so, in fact, that our main character and her family have made the whole thing a big deal and would plan parties and get-togethers around it.

While the movie does try to break away from this and show that humans have not lost all of their free will by having Oona (Emma Caulfield) enjoy a fling with a younger man, the end kind of ruins the whole thing by reinforcing the initial thesis that humans SHOULD rely on technology for everything, including love.

I have mixed feelings about this movie. I loved Emma Caulfield in the movie, but now that I’ve had time to think about this movie, I’m having second thoughts about it. Sure it was a great watch, but the message? I think this needs serious reflection and discussion with other people who’ve seen it.

So yes. Please. Do go see this movie. DVD. Talk to me when you’re done and tell me what you think.

Grazie.

 

Leave a Reply

