The Jane Austen Book Club (novel)

Author: Karen Joy Fowler

Don’t watch the movie.

Read the book first.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved the movie. I love it so much that it’s one of the movies I watch whenever I need a break (the other being Pride and Prejudice, 2005).

The problem is that the movie has both altered and remained faithful to the story that when you read the novel after watching the film, you find yourself failing to match the events or even the characters.

For one thing, the characters are way older in the novel. It was hard for me to picture Grigg as a forty-something struggling employee when the film Grigg was in his late twenties (maybe early thirties) and a successful IT person.

The events, also, were a bit of a mismatch. The movie built upon the events of the novel then “expounded” on them, adding bits and pieces here to make it more visually appealing. Grigg and Jocelyn’s LQ when Grigg’s car stalls? Enhanced, so to speak, in the movie, and well-done, if I may add. I was looking for it in the novel and was sadly disappointed when I didn’t find it.

Nevertheless, the very essence of the novel was kept by the movie, and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

