Sucker Punch (2011)

 

Psycho Chicks

How in the world can you even begin to describe what a brain fart of a movie this is?!

Do we begin with the ten movies this single action flick takes inspiration from? Or do we begin with the absolute mind-boggling element that Snyder calls a plot? Do we start with the beautiful cinematography? the hot action stars? the eargasmic soundtrack? or the “hnng-worthy” dance that Babydoll does at the start of every so-called action sequence?

Oh let’s not bother analyzing this one. I don’t think Zack Snyder, director and co-writer, meant for audiences to take this film too seriously. It was obviously made with the sole intent of satiating our visual hunger with as much CGI action and pretty ladies as possible. (Okay, that last part probably doesn’t apply to straight ladies, but their battle outfits were still pretty badass, if you ask me.)

My good friend, KC, who invited me and Laila, another good friend, mentioned that the movie seemed an amalgamation of at least 6 movies at initial count. We decided to see if we could stretch it to ten. We did.

  • 300 (of course)
  • Moulin Rouge
  • Terminator
  • Terminator 2
  • Terminator 3
  • Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
  • Matrix
  • Lord of the Rings (bit of a stretch, but it was that dragon and courtyard scene that did it for me)
  • Girl, Interrupted
  • Avatar
  • Kill Bill

Oh hey, this contains 11 movies. 😀

We all agreed that Snyder seemed to have taken inspiration from a whole lot of movies to make this one and went crazy with them. It’s hard to say if this was a good thing or not, and in my case, I still can’t make heads or tails about the plot, as it was so shallow and simple that you’d think there was something else there just waiting to be revealed.

Truth be told I wasn’t expecting much from this movie, but I didn’t expect to be CONFUSED. Ten minutes into the movie and I was as lost as Jennifer Connelly in the Labyrinth. No worries, though. The action made up for it.

The biggest disappointment, however, was not the lack of a strong plot (they needed to escape; we’ve seen better-developed plots than this) nor the confusing mental shifts ala Inception, but the fact that WE NEVER SEE BABYDOLL DANCE HER STUPID DANCE.

Am I the only one disappointed about that? Put me out of my misery and tell me you are, too.

Leave a Reply

