Thor (quick review)

An impromptu meeting with a friend ended up with a spontaneous decision to watch this movie. Let me just say this: after hearing my friend go on and on about the movie, I expected A LOT despite knowing that any comic book hero movie is usually nothing more than eye candy.

I was right. I was underwhelmed for the most part, mainly because it seemed like everything happened so fast that character and plot development was sacrificed in favor of Chris Hemworth’s body and the special effects.

It was well-made, though, as only the legendary Kenneth Branagh can make it. Despite the rush developments, all the characters’ motivations were explained clearly and logically while still leaving the viewer guessing about what’s going to happen in the next installment.

I’m not going to go into the technical aspect of the mythology involved because Norse mythology is not my expertise, but it was interesting to note how the movie dealt with Loki’s famed mischievousness because here it was portrayed as malicious deviousness based on a misguided sense of good intent (if that made any sense).

In any case, the movie was still an entertaining watch and I don’t regret spending my money on a whim.

Leave a Reply

