Friends with Benefits (2011)

I will never understand this contemporary culture’s penchant for sex. Actually, if you think about it, this fascination has been around for a long time, what with royals and even priests gallivanting about town and with each other.

I’m not even sure this “friends with benefits” concept is new as well. I suppose it’s new in the sense that it’s now no longer a taboo topic as there are two movies released in the same year that deals with this, the first being No Strings Attached starring Natalie Portman and Ashton Kutcher and the second one being this: Friends with Benefits, starring Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake. I don’t want to talk about the former because the Portman-Kutcher pairing really didn’t work for me, so I’ll focus on the latter one.

Can friends stay friends after they’ve banged each other? Repeatedly at that. For a while there, new best friends Jamie (Kunis) and Dylan (Timberlake) seemed to think so as their friendship remained intact, if not as strong as before they got it on. And you know the deal: one of them falls for the other and it’s a whole mess that gets all sorted out in the end.

It was surprisingly entertaining (I say surprisingly because the other movie of the same topic wasn’t so much entertaining as just plain cheesy), and strangely reassuring to know that while douchebags do exist, so do cute nice guys. Just don’t expect them to plan flash mobs to win you over. That’s a bit over the top, and which kind of ruined the whole movie for me. The whole time I was watching the movie it felt as realistic as movie plots can get, and then it had to go all Hollywood with the whole great grand gesture in the end. A flash mob? Planned in about an hour? Seriously? Before I could let my hopes of finding a decent man get crushed any further by all these Hollywood lies, I just reminded myself that this was fiction and that it was petty to get riled up about it.

I personally don’t advocate this type of relationship, but it’s nice to know that if the people involved are mature enough, then it can all work out in the end. If you don’t mind seeing Timberlake’s ass zoomed 100x on the big screen, then go ahead and see it there. If not, just wait for the DVD to come out and watch it in the safe confines of your home.

Leave a Reply

