Stress can make you sick

Seriously.

Last 2010, stress was one of the biggest contributors to my contracting a lung infection, which resulted in having to take medication for MONTHS. The only good thing that came out of that was that I finally learned to take tablets/capsules because there was no other form of the medicine available. Taking medicine or vitamins in tablet/capsule form is just as stressful for me as getting sick, which is why I try to keep myself healthy. I sleep early, I drink lots of water, I try to eat vegetables whenever I can (I’m a picky vegetable eater), I eat breakfast regularly now as opposed to my old habit of eating brunch, and ,thanks to my commute, I get some form of exercise in the form of walking.

You can’t get rid of stress because it is everywhere. I suppose what we need to learn is how to deal with it properly. I honestly haven’t learned how to do that, since I’m still stressed about 99.99% of the time, and I’m afraid it’s beginning to show physically. Again. I know where every single stress source is coming from, and I know how to deal with it, but it’s just frustrating because my progress is very slow. I’d like it to be faster, but I’ve realized that my mind and body simply don’t work that fast when it comes to dealing with stress.

What have I been doing? A good deal of silent crying, mind you, plus a lot of writing here and there. It helps, if only a little.

You know what I really want? Alone time again. I miss my quiet moments. Those were the times that kept me sane, that kept me healthy, that kept me going.

I think I need another artist date/solo time to de-stress. Hm, time to look up hotel rates again.

One thought on “Stress can make you sick

  1. I’m not here to preach, but you know what worked for me? Prayer. Solo time with the Lord every single day. I know it’s so difficult to find even 5 mins to ourselves, but i just keep thinking about this…the most important relationship we can have is with the Lord. If we want a successful relationship (with anyone for that matter), we need to invest time and effort. Time alone is good, but time with the Lord cam be great πŸ™‚ konti na lang. Just a couple of months left before well-deserved rest! And boracay! πŸ˜€ chin up, woman! You’re fabulous and wonderful! God made us that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

