IN MY PLACE

I have recently discovered the awesome that is called Coldplay. I’m not a big fan of their music, but lyrically, they create beauty.

Here is my current favorite from the band. An oldie but a goodie.


“In My Place”

In my place, in my place
Were lines that I couldn’t change
I was lost, oh yeah
I was lost, I was lost
Crossed lines I shouldn’t have crossed
I was lost, oh yeah

Yeah, how long must you wait for him?
Yeah, how long must you pay for him?
Yeah, how long must you wait for him?

I was scared, I was scared
Tired and underprepared
But I wait for you

If you go, if you go
Leaving me down here on my own
Well I wait for you

Yeah, how long must you wait for him?
Yeah, how long must you pay for him?
Yeah, how long must you wait for him?

Please, please, please
Come on and sing to me
To me, me

Come on and sing it out, out, out
Come on and sing it now, now, now
Come on and sing it

In my place, in my place
Were lines that I couldn’t change
I was lost, oh yeah
Oh yeah

When I was younger, I never really understood how a text could resonate with you. Only until recently did songs come to mean entire new worlds for me, and I find that I am not the only one in this position. I confided in a good friend and she in me, and yes, both of us were in the same boat we wanted out of. When I said that all the songs suddenly made sense, she exclaimed, “Same here!” Misery does love company, and I did feel relieved that I wasn’t alone, but we both knew we had to get “unstuck.” Soon.
This song was one of those I dismissed as fodder for the pop crazy. It was only today–and I mean it literally, today, 1 February–did I look at the lyrics and realize how close to home it hit.
I’ll leave the details to my personal paper journal, but know that when you find a text you can connect with, it will resonate with you, its message resounding through your being. Even if the message is a bit sad, and it makes you feel down, because it will be something you understand, the text will always be beautiful.
2 thoughts on “IN MY PLACE

Leave a Reply

