This Means War (2012)

Chris Pine and Tom Hardy? Ooh la la.

Reese Witherspoon? Never mind.

Seriously, though, this was one entertaining movie. It helps if you set your expectations low at the beginning so that all the surprises as the film viewing progresses will be positive ones.

Put simply, the movie is about two best friends played by Chris Pine (Star Trek) and Tom Hardy (Inception). They work for the CIA and fall in love with the same woman (Reese Witherspoon). It’s a classic love triangle story with the addition of CIA gadgetry and resources to thwart the other’s plans of winning the girl over.

I was expecting to be disappointed. Maybe it’s because the last time I watched a love triangle with Reese Witherspoon in the middle of it I found it completely bland. Nevertheless, I soldiered on, my apprehensions allayed by the thought that I had my friend with me to rant to if the movie sucked.

Surprisingly, both of us found ourselves laughing and cringing and jumping in our seats throughout the movie. It really was very entertaining despite the fact that the basic plot was pretty predictable.

What bothered me–and this is both the teacher and romantic in me speaking–was the message this was sending not just to the younger audience but also to single adults who sought a break from the monotony of dateless nights. It’s telling everybody that in order to find the right person, it’s okay to sleep around. Well, it’s not. You end up hurting people, including yourself. The “collect and select” method has people treating other people like material things. Try it on before you buy it.

I find this really sad. What ever happened to devoting your time and attention to that one special person? Whatever happened to good ol’ DEVOTION?

Ah well. My standards remain high, and I’m not just talking about this movie.

So yes, entertaining as this movie was, the underlying message is unsettling. That, and the fact that Reese Witherspoon is still cavorting with younger guys.

Leave a Reply

