Sponge

I’ve been reflecting a lot lately, and I’ve been mulling over this particular thought most recently: I love learning. There’s a certain beauty to the process of acquiring knowledge, and the realization that you have acquired new knowledge and that you actually KNOW what to do with it just makes you feel powerful.

The problem with me is that most of the time I don’t know what to do with what I’ve learned. I read books and magazines and the newspaper sometimes, and I watch serial dramas, sitcoms, cartoons (big fan of Phineas and Ferb here), NatGeo and the Discovery Channel a whole lot, and everything just STICKS. I know what an aglet is, I know that C4 is safe for cooking, I know that douche bags like Barney Stinson just need a little love to set them straight, and I know that the cruellest of hearts is still capable of love.

I’ve been absorbing bits and pieces of facts and life lessons like a sponge my whole life, but I’ve no idea what to do with them outside of answering tests. I can share these things through teaching, yes, but I mostly just find myself constantly THINKING.

So what I’m thinking about now is this: what do I do with information that’s merely nice to know?

Leave a Reply

