Disturb us, Lord

Yesterday during our session with our consultant, the prayer leader used Sir Francis Drake’s prayer “Disturb us, Lord” to begin and help prepare us for what headaches would come our way. It was a beautiful prayer,  and I’m glad that that prayer was chosen, for what happened the hours after that and even today left me (and the others, I’m sure) properly and immensely disturbed.

However, work wasn’t my only disturbance.

My new work routine has left me with a lot of time to think about things I didn’t want to think about: the “what if’s?” – the most dangerous kind of thought there is. All my what if scenarios have just left me melancholy and out of spirits.

But I trudge on. I place one foot in front of the other. I move automatically, mindlessly, robotically, but I move forward.

Leave a Reply

