Book

image

I caught up on sleep, tv, and my reading. I still have a ton of books on my TBR pile, but because this book was soon to be returned to its owner and it’ll be a while before I can get my hands on it again, I decided to borrow it and read it over the weekend.

I’d forgotten how easy it was to read children’s novels, but I’ve realized that children’s novels have come such a long way from the novels I grew up reading. I had The Bobsey Twins, The Babysitter’s Club, Sweet Valley, The Hardy Boys, and my personal favorite, Nancy Drew. They were novels you could finish in one sitting, a feat I was very proud of when I was younger. Now, you had to set aside time to actually get through even a chapter of a children’s novel.

Take that book above that I’m reading now, for instance. That’s about five Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys books. While it is still a fun read, children’s novels have also become tedious, which I consider one reason why fewer kids are into reading.

If you tell me that Twilight has done a good job of increasing the number of readers then I’d agree with you if not for the notion that fans seem to have considered all other stories inferier to that of Bella and Edward’s.

But I digress. I miss the P54 Nancy Drew books that I bought in twos or threes with every trip to the bookstore. I miss having time to read more than one novel in a day.

Don’t get me wrong. I am actually grateful for these new and longer novels. It teaches perseverance and dedication to the written word. It teaches patience, which, in this world full of instant gratification, we seem to have lost.

Leave a Reply

