Children’s Literature

I haven’t surfed the net in quite a while (and when I say quite a while, I mean YEARS), so this being the long weekend and me being broke and unable to go out anymore, I decided to plop myself on my bed, dump my Mac on my lap, and start surfing away.

This one article I found listed 23 Writing Websites to Make Your Writing Stronger. I have long given up on writing my own novel, for I found that writing fiction was never really my passion. I just liked writing. Period. But this one link there, Kidlit.com, was a blog of sorts for those interested in writing children’s literature.

This got me thinking of my own undergrad thesis on Cinderella retellings (focus on Maguire’s Confessions of An Ugly Stepsister) and how, on hindsight, I understood so little of children’s literature, Saussure, Derrida, and Maguire back then. I wonder how I ever got my grade (which was not bad, if I do say so myself).

Now I wonder: if and when I ever get around to going back to school to finish my MA in Literary and Cultural Studies and  FINALLY get around to writing my thesis, would I still continue with my undergrad plan of making a “follow up” thesis to my undergrad one? Or would I change it entirely? One thing I do know is that I still want children’s literature to figure in it, partly because I teach tweeners and the whole thesis-writing process might give me better insight into the material I teach, but mainly because I never get bored reading them.

I’ve always found children’s literature to be just as interesting and just as complex as general fiction. Original fairy tale versions hold their own against any classic or critically-acclaimed contemporary novel, in my opinion. (Hey, that’d make for an interesting thesis topic.) But that’s just me. My interest in children’s literature has remained with me through the years, which is why I gravitate towards the young adult section of every bookstore I enter. I do still read “adult” books, both fiction and nonfiction, but given a choice between Roald Dahl and Toni Morrison, I’d choose the former.

I don’t know my plan of action for my studies right now, so while I’m working that out, I’m just going to keep on reading and reading and reading.

(I wonder if I’ll ever get to finish  this year my Susan Sontag and Mary Wollstonecraft finds from Booksale.)

5 thoughts on “Children’s Literature

Leave a Reply

