My name

 

That is not my name.

That’s a convoluted spelling of my last name.

People have always had difficulty spelling both my first name and my last name. My first name is Ria, but online I spell it as “reeyah” because once upon a time in the interwebs, your username had to have a certain number of characters to be valid, and 3 was not that number. My last name is a bit more complicated. My dad tells me that our surname hails from a Spanish ancestor, whose foreign blood has been thinned through the generations. However, some people I’ve met recently have decided that my last name sounds more Chinese than Spanish by virtue of the last syllable, “-que” which is a pretty common Chinese surname here. It’s not exactly a farfetched assumption because some people say I sort of look Chinese sometimes, too, and that one is due to the Chinese blood from a maternal ancestor whose foreign blood has been thinned through the generations.

Well, I don’t know about bloodlines, but in my heart, I’m a Filipino.

Leave a Reply

