Trial and Error

(photos stolen from Chaveli’s FB)

December 22 saw me and some of my best friends (met at work) trooping over to the recently opened Republ1c Wakepark in Nuvali. All 5 of us girls had never tried it before, but we were all willing to try it.

the girls at the Republ1c Wakepark in Nuvali. stuffing ourselves with carbs before heading to the beginners' pool haha

the girls at the Republ1c Wakepark in Nuvali. stuffing ourselves with carbs before heading to the beginners’ pool haha

We registered first (P250 for 1 hour + P800 deposit for wristband/helmet/lifevest), had a light but carb-filled lunch then lined up at the beginners’ pool. I’m not the sportiest in the group, but I’m willing to try anything at least once, and this was just pure fun despite the number of times I fell off my board or got dragged by the rope. My one saving grace was that I got farther in the pool with each try I took.

After our hour was up, we waded a bit in the pool (P120/day) and just generally lazed around. It was so refreshing to take the day off with four of the best people on earth. We caught up on each other’s lives as much as we could because we hadn’t seen each other in a while. Cla and Chavs are the only ones still at Xavier, where we all met and became the closest of friends, and while I was technically still part of that community, I now work in a different campus. Hana and Jod have also moved on to other careers in which they are also doing well.

As I look back on the conversations we had that day, I can’t help but feel strangely happy for everybody. I say “strangely” because we’re all facing some kind of crossroads in our lives right now–some personal and some work-related (mine-both).  The thing is that even though we’re facing these kinds of challenges now, it just means that sooner or later we’ll be facing the rewards. I’m a firm believer in the saying, “When you’re down, there’s nowhere to go but UP,” and whatever trials we face, we’re pushing through as best as we can despite the errors we make. My wakeboarding experience literally reminded me of that. I fell and got dragged through murky water, but I persevered and got a little bit farther every time I tried again.

And my friends, these beautiful ladies, have been with me through everything.

at Kanin Club, Paseo de Sta. Rosa

at Kanin Club, Paseo de Sta. Rosa

Leave a Reply

