Drawing a blank

It really is during times like these when I’m in pain that I manage to churn out a few words of my thoughts. The problem is that right now I’m drawing a blank.

If I merely rattle off what I’ve done the past few days, then all I can say is that I’ve pretty much done the same: work in the office, teach in the classroom, jog twice or thrice a week, head to the city during the weekend. You could set your clock with my routine.

Was there anything out of the ordinary? Maybe that I met up with my friend last Saturday just here in the area for dinner instead of heading out to the city. Or that work got called off today on account of yesterday being the Chinese New Year and my work place being a Chinese-Filipino school.

You could say that I lead a very uneventful life, and I’d be the first one to agree with you. You could say that teaching is fulfilling and in itself eventful as the classroom is always full of unexpected twists courtesy of the young students, and I’d also agree with you.

And that’s it. That’s all I’m going to say on the matter because I honestly don’t know what else I can say.

I’ll probably be obsessing about this until I go to sleep later on. Or until tomorrow. That’s usually how my mind works.

Till then, I’m going to continue to writhe in pain until I find a position that’ll let me sleep at least in near comfort.

Leave a Reply

