March 2013

It seems that I have neglected this blog this entire month, so before it ends, let me just document here my month in pictures.

Disclaimer: Some of the photos here (marked with an asterisk in the captions) were nicked from my friends’ FBs. Hi, guys, love you. 😀

March 9

Inauguration of the Oratory of St. Francis Xavier and the Anthony and Justa Lee Student Leadership Center

For this inauguration, I was an usher. I was assigned to the Salvador family, the ones who donated the marble for the altar. I had admission interviews in the morning then I was an usher for the event. I was in 3-inch heels for almost the entire day, so yes, my legs were, to put it mildly, very sore when I got home. Still, our new buildings look beautiful, and I’m blessed to be in such a wonderful community.

Our beautiful altar. Marble donated by the Salvador family; Stained glass cross designed by Carlos Tanseco.

Our beautiful altar. Marble donated by the Salvador family; Stained glass cross designed by Carlos Tanseco.

With my former student Kevin who was invited as one of the representatives of the DWTL group

* With my former student Kevin who was invited as one of the representatives of the DWTL group

March 11-15

XSN Year 1 Culminating Activity: Grateful Beginnings

I was the emcee for the culminating activity, so I had to excuse myself from desk work for an hour each morning for that week to take part in the practice and to rehearse with my student co-hosts. I don’t have any pictures of the actual performances right now, but they were the most adorable little kids you’ve ever seen.

Kinder kids practice their performance

Kinder kids practice their performance

After everything, we left to go eat together and celebrate one year of success.

After the culminating activity

* After the culminating activity

March 17

Oli’s wedding!

Oli’s an old friend from college. I’ve never met his bride before the actual wedding day, but from what I hear, they’re the perfect match. 🙂

It was great to be able to see old college friends and blockmates, too!

with my best friends (minus Ana and Anna)

* with my best friends l-r Flora, Em, Irish (minus Ana and Anna)

Outfit of the day

Outfit of the day

photobooth fun

* photobooth fun

with former English blockmates

* with former English blockmates (l-r: Colin-not an English blockmate but Oli’s regular blockmate, Maricar, moi, Em, Con, Garvin

* Oli and his beautiful bride, JM (photo from JM's FB)

* Oli and his beautiful bride, JM (photo from JM’s FB)

March18-22

Preparing for our school president’s last day. 😦

Fr. Johnny Go S.J. served as our school director/president for 12 years. In those 12 years, he was able to make Xavier School better than it was.

by the reflection (reflecting?) pool

* by the reflection (reflecting?) pool after shooting our video for Fr. Go

thank you, Fr. Go!

* thank you, Fr. Go!

March 23-30

Freedom!

Summer vacation! I started it off by paying off bills and shopping and watching a movie in an actual theater which I haven’t done in AGES what with the lack of an actual movie house in the vicinity of my residence. Hence, I am broke. How I’m going to pay for those yoga classes I want to join while saving up for that Bali trip for New Year AND my MA classes on a teacher’s salary is a mystery. But you know what they say: where there’s a will, there’s a way.

Anyway, I met up with my high school pals Kyla and Juay for the first of our biannual meetups. We were pretty grown up that day, paying bills and going to the bank and stuff haha. The next day, the XSN team went on Visita Iglesia, which is a traditional Holy Week practice (I’m not sure. I think you can do this during the Advent season, too. IDK.) wherein you visit various churches and do the Stations of the Cross. And then the day after THAT, I met up with my best friend Cla and her husband Fritz in Nuvali because they were on their way to Tagaytay.

with two of my closest high school friends Juay and Kyla

with two of my closest high school friends Juay (left) and Kyla (middle)

after the Visita Iglesia, photo op at Ugu Bigyan's housel

* after the Visita Iglesia, photo op at Ugu Bigyan‘s housel

showed the bestie the oratory

* showed the bestie the oratory

So far, I’ve spent this past Holy Week appropriately pensive but constantly distracted by books and other texts and research on that Bali trip. *sigh*

Here’s hoping April is going to be amazing. Here’s hoping that the rest of the year will be even more amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

