A-Z Challenge: Kane Chronicles, The

me and a book

me and a book

Nope. I’m not yet finished with the book. In fact, I haven’t even started it yet, owing to the fact that it’s been years since I’ve read the book ahead of this in the series.

That book I’m holding is the last in the Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan, the same author of the Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus series. I don’t remember much from the first two books except that the heroes are two kids whom I don’t even remember to even be in their teens and that this is all about Egyptian mythology as opposed to the other series which were about the Greek myths.

I’ve compared this series to another one, the one about Flamel, briefly in a different post, and I must say reading my old entries about the two has gotten me excited again about picking up where I left off. The problem is that I barely remember the important details in the past books, so I think I’ll end up going back and forth the pages quite often during the start. I barely even remember who Bast is.

I honestly thought I’d be able to write something more substantial about this series than what I’ve put here now, but mainly because I thought I’d be finished with the entire series already by this time. I mean, it’s just ONE book. I once read the entire Percy Jackson series in just two days; how could one book be a problem? I’ve been putting off reading this book since it came out, and I don’t know why.

The answer is that I got distracted by Meg Cabot’s story about the Underworld. That’s what I’ve been reading now.

But that’s a different topic for a different blog post. So until I finish reading The Serpent’s Shadow, this is all I can give you right now.

——–

I’m also going to take this opportunity to ask for recommendations for new books to read. I’ve started to consider Harlequin romances because I’m all out of ideas. I’ve promised to read Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart and Gregory Maguire’s A Lion Among Men (if I can find my copy) by November 30 this year for The Reading Buddy challenge, but I’m going to need something a little bit lighter in between since the rest of the books on my TBR list are classics. YA lit and chick lit are my go-to “light reading” books, but if you have anything specific to suggest, drop me a line? Thank you. 🙂

7 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Kane Chronicles, The

  1. Hi Ria, yours is the first for me today! The Serpent’s Shadow – that looks amazing to me and synchronistic as my post tomorrow will be on Lilith, who according to the Midrash, was first wife of Adam in the Garden of Eden, and expelled, as were Adam and Eve, when they took the apple offered by Lilith as serpent…
    I don’t know what to recommend to you by way of lighter, new chick-lit books for reading – sorry!
    I have JUST posted on Kilimanjaro

    Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

    Like

  2. Oooh! The first I heard about the existence of Lilith was from an old anime my roommate used to watch. Back then I just thought it was made up. Can’t wait to read what you have to say about Lilith! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my G! We read the same books, I guess. I love Rick Riordan, but I prefer the PErcy Jackson series. I have read the Red Pyramid, but not yet this one. And I love MEg Cabot’s Abandoned series! Being in that kind of hell is kinda hot – not literally.

    Like

  4. You hit the jackpot on Meg Cabot’s Abandoned! That’s how I feel too! I wouldn’t mind spending eternity in hell if that was the scenario hahaha

    And yes, I prefer the Percy Jackson series, too 😀

    Like

  5. The Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher is pretty amazing. (So good, they even made it in to a TV series on SciFi Channel for a season.) The Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs is also pretty great. A modern day wizard, or a Native American werecoyote VW mechanic. Take your pick! 🙂

    Like

  6. I’ve heard of The Dresden Files as a TV series, but I never knew it was based on books! Those look like very interesting reads; gonna check those out on my next visit to the book store. Thanks! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

