A-Z Challenge: Sophie Kinsella

The Shopaholic series up to book 3.

Can You Keep A Secret?

Twenties Girl.

These are the 5 Kinsella books I’ve read. I can’t say I’m a fan because I’m not, but I read her because she’s like delicious recess after 3 periods of Les Mis or Nobel Prize literature. I tired of her Shopaholic series when, in the middle of the third book, I found that the basic plot structure was the same: girl gets into trouble (usually involving shopping), funny/crazy/annoying attempts to solve problem, then problem resolved. It’s like for each book shopping has been the cause of her problems and she has had to get herself out of trouble after first making a fool of herself multiple times.

Can You Keep A Secret? was pretty predictable. She blabs her secrets to a gorgeous hunk, they get together, hunk blabs secrets, they fight and yeah. You know the rest. But since this is a one-shot, it was fairly entertaining. Also, the protagonist’s the least annoying of the three leading ladies.

Twenties Girl. A-nnoy-ing.

Sophie Kinsella’s pretty good at this chick lit stuff. Her main characters can be annoying most of the time, but they all have an inner strength that can also serve as inspiration to all the ladies needing a bit of it.

2 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Sophie Kinsella

  1. Another pleb – I haven’t read her books. I think they’ve been in our book club but toooooo light weight! I enjoy light weight at times, don’t get me wrong. But I gravitate towards heavier stuff. Am reading Donna Tarte’s “The Secret History” – oldish book I got out of the library. Pretty amazing and deep – not much time for reading though, in this month of April for obvious reasons!
    Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

    Like

Leave a Reply

