25 Balloons

I got tagged on Facebook.

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you. (To do this, go to β€œNotes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

 

 

 

1. I am afraid that I may be diabetic. I don’t want to get checked because if confirmed, that means no more chocolates. 😦 I’ve been good, though; I haven’t had much sweets lately except for ice cream last Friday.

 

2. I both love and hate being away from the city. I love that I am away from the hustle and bustle and general toxicity of city life because I really am a super quiet person, so the laid-back quality of life here in the south (hey, I grew up with this laid-back-ness :D) is something I never realized I’d look for. But I hate that all my close friends are there and I’m here. Oh well. What I am happy about is that I have awesome new friends here. From zilch I now have an extended family here whee!

 

3. I’ve always wanted to join a book club, so when it FINALLY happened, I was beyond ecstatic. πŸ™‚ The sad thing is our meetings are never regular because our schedules never match up. 😦

 

4. I love YA lit. I don’t know why. Sometimes I think it’s because I never got over my own high school life, but most of it was actually pretty decent (except for that one incident freshman year), so I don’t actually have anything to complain about.

 

5. Bali is my affordable out-of-country dream. So I’m going there first before heading on over to my other bucket list countries: Italy, Greece, and Scotland.

 

6. I’ve always wanted to be a teacher, but now that I HAVE been a teacher for almost ten years, I’m beginning to think if I could possibly explore other careers. The thing is, teaching’s the only thing I know how to do. =/ I like teaching because I like having an audience, which is pretty much contrary to my personality, or maybe actually it is complementary? I love my quiet times, but I like it also when I’m holding everybody’s attention, my audience hanging on to every single word I’m saying. I guess you could say it’s my outlet. I’m allowed periods of time to talk, but I have loads of quiet time to myself as well. So, what other career will give me that luxury?

 

7. This survey meme’s too long. =))

 

8. The guy in my head is faceless.

 

9. I don’t know how to write academic papers anymore.

 

10. “I want to be that girl who says she’s ugly but is really beautiful. Instead I’m the girl who things she’s ugly and is really ugly.” While I don’t think I’m actually ugly, I kind of actually can relate to this quote.

 

11. I listened and read the lyrics of Demi Lovato’s “Heart Attack” earlier and I just realized how much I could relate to the lyrics. I knew there was a reason I liked her songs.

 

12. On that note, have you noticed how her songs are about insecurities and/or overcoming them and then Taylor Swift’s are all about spite? Even the one about bullies, the tone’s kinda “neener neener I’m successful now you’re not neener neener” mean? angsty? Something like that. I’m a Lovato fan, yes.

 

13. I have this weird need or desire to talk about TMI stuff or at least mention them to any willing ear because… Well, as introverted as I am, I still need an audience, you know, and it’s the TMI stuff that I sometimes find interesting. Like right now. I’m currently suffering from LBM, also known as Ninglou-itis at work, and I have not bathed since Friday (I had fever also), but I don’t stink at all. I think my body has finally gotten rid of all the stink. Hooray! Now to make sure I don’t have any accidents at work tomorrow. Ew.

 

14. I took English Lit mainly because I loved reading. That was it. I thought English Lit would be the perfect course to introduce me to wonderful literature, and while of course it did THAT, I didn’t realize that Lit Theory would take the fun out of reading. And yet shifted out of Educ to Lit and Cultural Studies for M.A. Who’s the crazy masochist now?

 

15. I joined a Japanese speech contest in college twice and won the second time around. I took the Level 4 Japanese proficiency exam and passed (even have the certificate to prove it), but now I speak not a whit of the language from absolute lack of practice. Save maybe for, “Ikura desu ka?” (how much is this?) or “Nanji desu ka?” (what time is it?). But I would love to be able to learn the language again. If the school will ever send the kids to Japan for the study tour in the future I hope they consider me as a chaperone.

 

16. I pay attention to trends then run the other way. Except for skinny jeans. They’re everywhere, so I have no choice but to buy them. As an alternative, I have taken to wearing skirts and dresses when I distinctly remember declaring in my younger years that I would never wear skirts or dresses.

 

17. I’m not plastic; I’ve just matured.

 

18. I no longer actively daydream of Brandon Boyd being the father of my children because I’ve realized it’s hopeless, and now I just simply admire the man. I want him to be the ninong (godfather) to my children now.

 

19. I always wonder what people think of me or how they see me.

 

20. My sungit* face, serious face, angry face all look alike and are often mistaken for the other.

*(bitchy is the closest translation I can come up with)

 

21. I don’t like our new parish priest. He’s not very… personable.

 

22. I have a thing for traditional love letters. It takes courage to bare one’s soul to another and immortalize it on paper, and I know that if I could do that for my guy, then I’m keeping him.

 

23. I hate taking medicine. I hate going to the doctor. The idea of human imperfection and frailty is made even more real by medicine and doctors and hospitals, and this is why I hate medicine, going to the doctor, and hospitals. On that note, I only learned how to take tablets and capsules three years ago when I got sick and the doctor said, “Oh hell no you gotta take ’em tablets or DIE.” I cried.

 

24. He didn’t actually say that, but I still cried.

 

25. I always freak out when the bosses (especially the presidents) like or comment on any of my FB posts.

2 thoughts on “25 Balloons

  1. Hi, Susan! I just felt like posting something about me, which is why I put this Facebook post up here as well. Anybody who wants to do this can go right ahead and answer it. I hope you do this as well! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

