Books for a cause

I’m selling my books.

The decision to part with my books was difficult, but I knew it was necessary because there are people who need help more than I need my books.

I got the idea earlier this evening after I posted about my recent purchases in the local bookstore. They were school supplies, but they were purchases nonetheless. I felt guilty because I had the luxury of buying things for work and leisure when there were people who didn’t even have homes or work anymore. Add to that the fact that my students (both current and former) had done more for the relief effort than I have and I felt ashamed.

I had always wanted to help, but my money had already been budgeted for the month, so that meant that I couldn’t donate cash nor could I buy relief goods without me relying on charity as well until the next payday. I began to gather old clothes for donations, but when I was done, I still felt like there was more I could do.

That was when my eyes fell on the books at the foot of my sister’s bed. I got an uneasy feeling as the idea began to take shape in my head and dig its claws into my heart. No way was the idea gonna go away. I knew what I needed to do.

I posted the idea of selling my books for a cause on Facebook to see if there would be any takers. It turns out there were a lot. Buoyed by the support and enthusiasm, I created a photo album of the pictures of the books I’d be parting with.

First on the list was Stephen Chbosky’s Perks of being a wallflower.

Fast forward to now.

It’s been said that truly great people do great things without boasting of it. Or a variation if that was the right statement. Anyway, my post here does not mean I am looking for a pat on the shoulder. No. I just need to share how I felt and what I thought.

I just wanted someone to hear me out.

If you want to help by “buying” a book, click here for details. I’ll be updating the album with more books over the week.

Leave a Reply

