Southern girl, could you want me?

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

You’re an exception to the rule
you’re a bona fide rarity
you’re all I’ve ever wanted
Southern girl, could you want me?

It’s an entire chorus instead of a line, but when I first heard the chorus, I instantly saw myself as the southern girl. Granted, the singer perhaps was thinking of American Southern belles in writing this song or something similar to that, but as far as this country goes, I’m from south of the metro, and that’s close enough to make the connection.

Earlier today when I took a break from reading, I browsed my IG and saw that one of my colleagues and good friends had become engaged last night. We all knew it was coming soon, and it was… wow, I don’t remember anymore. I was excited, sure, and I texted all our close colleagues (realizing later on that I was actually already late), but something in me sunk, and I remembered this song.

And…

That’s all I’m going to say in public.

Leave a Reply

