Austenland

Austenland, from novel to film

Austenland, from novel to film

I first heard about this through YouTube. I was checking a video out then I saw the trailer for this movie on the sidebar, so of course I had to view it, me being a Jane Austen fan and all.

The first thing that appealed to me (aside from the fact that it had something to do with Austen) is that the lead female is Keri Russell, who used to be my absolute hair idol (now it’s Christina Caradona, but that’s for another blog post) because of her gorgeous curly hair back in Felicity.

The other thing that drew me to this was J.J. Feild, who played Tilney in an adaptation of Northanger Abbey. He looks a bit like the adorable Tom Hiddleston, which is a huge plus.

Lest I be accused of being interested solely for the actors’ good looks, I have to say that I was pretty intrigued by the idea of a Jane Austen themed “alternate reality,” if you will. I’m not die-hard enough to actually spend money on something like that and then possibly face discrimination on site because I’m not at all English, but it did get my imagination running pretty wildly for some time.

When I found out it was an adaptation of Shannon Hale’s story of the same title, I was drawn in further. I found a copy of the book and proceeded to read it, loving every bit of it. The movie, on the other hand, was a bit of a let-down. I know I shouldn’t have been expecting much, but it sort of went the other way I had in my mind. Nevertheless, it was still very enjoyable, with a lot of cringe-worthy scenes that just add to the fun of watching.

2 thoughts on “Austenland

Leave a Reply

