Making memories (NaBloPoMo: Mnemonics)

Earlier, I went out with my family to the city. They all chose to watch a local movie while I shopped for some things my sister would need when she finally moves in tomorrow into her college dorm. It kind of was a surreal moment for me because I couldn’t believe my sister was all grown up and moving out of the house. She’s always been the life of the house (aren’t all youngest kids that way?), and to have her gone means a relative silence would fall over the household.

Nevertheless, I was also excited for her since she’d be on her own for the first time in her life. She’ll be rooming with 3 others. Luckily for her, one of her roommates is her high school classmate, so the adjustment shouldn’t be that difficult because she’ll have someone to easily relate to instead of having to suffer through awkwardness at first.

When I think about my own experiences, I realize that making new memories makes me apprehensive at times, but overall, I come out of those experiences wiser. Hopefully, all my sister’s experiences make her wiser as well.

Leave a Reply

