Rinse and Repeat (NaBloPoMo: Mnemonics)

Prompt: Do you really think we’re doomed to repeat mistakes if we don’t remember them?

I taught Social Science for one year, and one of the things I wanted to impart to the kids is the relevance of studying history. The top/most common answer the students came up with (and one I agree with) is that we learn from the mistakes of the past so that we can avoid making the same ones.

However, what I do believe is more important than remembering past mistakes is the ability to think critically before making or acting on a decision. Even if we don’t remember our past mistakes, if we actually take the time to think about the best way to deal with a problem or a challenge, then I believe that there’s less likelihood of repeating a past similar mistake.

On that note, I oh so wish my country would learn to THINK first.

Leave a Reply

