I can’t win

Thanks for this, Penguin Random House FB

Thanks for this, Penguin Random House FB

I didn’t even have to think about it. I’d be Anne Eliot from Austen’s Persuasion. I identified more with her than the Pride and Prejudice‘s feisty Elizabeth Bennet, whom people say I am more like.

I suppose in terms of temperament, I certainly am more like the latter, but when it comes to matters of the heart, I find that I am more like Anne.

The truth is that the more I think about it, the more I find bits of myself in each of the Austen heroines. I have Catherine’s imagination, Emma’s annoyingness, Fanny’s righteousness, Elinor’s sense, Lizzie’s feistiness, and Anne’s martyrdom (the transliteration from Filipino into English has diminished the meaning) or, let’s just say, attitude.

But if you look at all these characteristics, these were the very things that got these ladies into trouble, and since I have all of them, does that mean the troubles headed my way are six-fold?

Leave a Reply

