Gratitude List

Today I woke up annoyed because there were people in the house so early in the morning, and their voices woke me up. Sort of.

Also. They kind of imposed themselves into OUR Sunday breakfast tradition.

But now that I’m reflecting on what to be grateful for today, I find that their presence means that my mom is loved and respected and that they recognize how awesome the food that Mama and my cousin cook for us here at home.

Another thing I am thankful for is coffee. It’s gotten me pretty wired up and high since that first sip of lightly sweetened barako Americano. I’ve pummeled my way through one set of rubrics, one and a half set of papers, and I’ve dreamed up various evil things that could happen to my family (my brain is weird that way, and yes, I hate it when it goes that dark route).

And because my brain went dark today, I am thankful that in reality, my family is safe and healthy.

I am thankful that I have money to spend so that I can work outside in a cafe that served not so great food (food’s good, but not the best) but had excellent service. Also, the tables are PERFECT for working.

I am thankful for my “new” Kenneth Cole watch. I get to wear fancy shmancy arm candy for a while. 😀 hashtag-dream-come-true hahaha

I am thankful for friends who know just when to interrupt work to crack a joke and when to remind me it’s time to get back to business.

I am thankful for free rides home.

I am thankful for Spotify.

I am thankful for Pope Francis I. Seriously. I’m at this point in my life where I have begun to distrust and question my religion (well, actually, it’s the PEOPLE I dislike and disagree with, not the religion per se). I don’t know what I’m saying, but I like that Pope Francis I is somebody who makes everybody–no matter what their religion is or who they are or where they come from–feel accepted and respected and safe. He recognizes the wrong, the evil, but from what I observe and read about him and hear about him, he chooses to see the good in the person and/or the potential and possibility to be good. He gives me hope. 🙂

I am thankful for papers to check because it means I have a job. The papers give me insight about my students, where they come from, how they feel, and what they want in life. I am a voyeur, but I am allowed this peek into their lives.

I am grateful for my pink pens.

I am grateful for my youngest sister who’s helping me out now.

I am grateful for today.

I am grateful for this feeling of happiness and contentment, which totally trumps the way I woke up this morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

