Gratitude

There’s a patten here.

When I start my day out cranky, I find that by the end of the day, I’m extremely grateful and happy.

Fortunately, the converse is not true. When I start my day out well, the crappy parts come in the middle, and then I still end the day with a smile (a tired one, but still–a smile).

The first one was true for me today. I had very little sleep, I had to wake up early because I had a major errand to run, and then I wake up to people talking to and nagging me before my brain had fully booted up. Add to that the fact that said major errand ended up a bust. (My consolation? McDonald’s Twister Fries)

To make up for lost sleep, I took a nap before heading on over to a children’s birthday party I had been invited to. I woke up late, but I made it to the party in time for the eating part (best part, in my opinion :D). I got to see friends and colleagues again even though I had seen them just the day before. I guess what changed is that this was the first day of our week-long vacation, so it was refreshing to see them outside work.

After the party, four of us headed to a village bar and grill to just basically hang out. What started out as rants and raves about work turned into a discussion on love and ideals. The intimate conversation was a far cry from the hugely populated dinners we’ve been having lately. It felt nice to reconnect with these people I hadn’t hung out with because of the demands of work.

What I’m really grateful for, though, is that I was finally able to say what I’ve wanted to say for some time now and just breathe.

So. Friends. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

