Birthday Gratitude List

//updated with pics

Barring some minor setbacks, this turned out to be one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had. πŸ™‚

Last year was tough because it was the time Yolanda hit us, and it was just really a horrible time. We weren’t badly hit where we are, and while I was grateful we were safe, I just felt sad for all the people who were affected by this calamity.

Today was a different story, though.

My body clock woke me up at the ungodly hour of 330am, and I replied to some messages. I don’t know why. It just happened. Then I woke up again before my alarm rang at 6am. I was annoyed that I slept so lightly, and it felt like I’d get a rough day, but then I surmised that it probably had to do with excitement for what lay ahead.

I left home later than I had planned to, but it was was a blessing in disguise because I didn’t have to wait a long time for any PUV for my commute to the city. I got to our village main street just as the shuttle pulled up. There was a tricycle waiting to take me (and others) to the bus station. The bus filled up quickly and left on time. I get off at my stop and cabs were lined up ready to take passengers. I got to do my planned morning errands AND see former colleagues and catch up with them.

Screen Shot 2014-11-08 at 10.46.56 PM

Left: my note to Ross, former Gr.5 partner and all around awesome person. Top right: invaded Jules at his desk. Bottom right: reunited with Ross! πŸ˜€

My morning was perfect!

By noon, we were all hungry. The traffic en route to Wingman in Makati was devastatingly heavy, so we got there one hour after we had agreed to meet. Nevertheless, food was served more quickly than I had remembered it before. The food was just as amazing as I had remembered it. BEST. WINGS. IN. TOWN!

We had so much fun catching up! There just wasn’t enough time to tell EVERYTHING, but just being in their company was enough. More than enough, actually.

Top: Some of the world's best people. Bottom: Nope, the watch wasn't a gift (sadly). I just tried it on. :D

Top: Some of the world’s best people. (photo courtesy of Cla, second from right)
Bottom: Nope, the watch wasn’t a gift (sadly). I just tried it on. πŸ˜€ IT’S HUUUUGE!

After the lunch, we split up. Jules went with me to watch a movie, but we found out that we had just missed the last showing. It didn’t matter. It was a minor hiccup. A blip. A blok. And I got to have ice cream, which was a definite plus. πŸ™‚

Going home usually required waiting an hour in line to get a ride home at the shuttle station. I get to the station and there was already a van waiting. NOT ONLY THAT, I GOT MY FAVORITE SEAT!

But the greatness didn’t end there!

I check my messages and well. Let’s just say I feel absolutely loved. It feels like the whole universe conspired to make thisΒ day as close to perfect as possible.

Hello, year 31. πŸ™‚ I’m ready for you. I’ve got all the love in the world. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

