Of beaches and (good)byes

B

My first official beach trip in two years is this April’s trip to Baler, Aurora in Northern Philippines.

Baler is one of two main surfing havens in the north, the other one being in the west: La Union. The last time I went to Baler was more than three years ago, and it was then that I had my first surfing experience. I don’t have pics, unfortunately, but the memory will forever be embedded in my brain and my muscles, I think. 😀 The body pain I got from that surfing lesson had me immobile for a good few days.

This time, though, I stuck to sunbathing and facing the strong waves with my two new good friends while our other companion was off surfing. It was all very… chill, for lack of a better word.

This Baler trip, personally, was both an escape and a recharge of sorts. I am a beach person. Leave me on the beach with the sun and a good book, and I’ll be happy. I’m glad I had the opportunity to take this trip with three new friends who took me in when I had nobody these past few months. I sort of ruined it, though, with an argument that first night there, but that’s another story for another blog entry. In hindsight, though, the fact that they accepted and tolerated my presence was something I will forever be grateful for.

I will miss those three friends, all of whom have already resigned and are moving on to different career paths. The Baler beach trip was one final bid for bonding and a final opportunity for an extended goodbye.

unnamed