Gratitude list

I don’t know why I didn’t do this for letter G, but there’s always room for gratitude any day of the year.

So today, and the past week since I’ve been back from the beach, I am grateful for the following:

  • finally getting my driver’s license (still nervous about the expressway though :/)
  • my gorgeous tan hallelujah. I usually end up burnt to a crisp or not dark at all but this time my tan is JUST RIGHT. Sad news is that it’s quickly fading from my face because I’ve been indoors most days recently
  • tomorrow’s overnight trip to hot springs hot spot Pansol. Not actually sure if the place we’re renting is a regular pool or hot spring pool, but it’s  still an opportunity to work on my tan. 
  • Vacation. I haven’t had a decent vacation in years which has resulted in my skin turning a pasty pale brown instead of the beautiful morena shade I should have and want to have. But more than my skin color, I’m absolutely grateful for the opportunity to rest and recharge. This year so far has been unbearably difficult, so this short time away from work is blessing.
  • Netflix. I’ve been binge-watching Riverdale, Iron Fist, Jessica Jones, and Gilmore Girls, and all for free thanks to the free first month. Not sure I’ll retain the subscriotiin, though, since Netflix PH is horrible.
  • Viu. This is the Kdrama equivalent of Netflix except they don’t charge ANYTHING. 🙂 Just finished She Was Pretty and Love in the Moonlight. 
  • My brother gave me spending money since I used most of this month’s salary on car payments (among others) already. Hooray for siblings!
  • Ice cream and Ice.in this sweltering summer heat, not even the Laguna winds is enough to keep us cool. Thank goodness for these two.
  • Water. There’s this TVC being aired about how much water you waste if you leave the tap on while you brush your teeth. I grew up in a house with no running water. Well, technically we had it, but t had to be delivered to us. The water guys would come with a truck of water that they’d transfer to our backyard tank which is the source of our running water. The downside is that for some reason, the water wouldn’t go into our toilet, so we had to “manually” flush it. We had to learn to save our water by putting a small container under our heads to catvh the water when we’d rinse our hair and we’d use that to flush the toilet bowl. We brushed our teeth with a cup and we had to use that amount of water when we brushed our teeth. We had a bunch more water-saving practices that we followed daily, so I thought it was pretty normal until we moved to Laguna when I was a teenager. But until now we still try to save as much water as we can. Even if we have a working shower, we still use the traditional tabo at balde when we bathe because we use less water that way. What I AM thankful for is that we have water. Even if we have to conserve and be mindful of our usage, we actually have ready access to running water. We have ice, filtered drinking water, a shower and toilet that work. We have water, and I am thankful for this every single day.

Iron Fist

I’ve been on Netflix for all of four days and I’ve been marathoning  different shows. Unfortunately, Netflix PH is useless and I’m limited to the Marvel shows, the Gilmore Girls, and a small selection of movies I’ve either watched or have absolutely no interest in.

In any case, the only reason I signed up for Netflix is for those aforementioned shows. I’ve watched Daredevil 1, Jessica Jones, and I’m supposed to watch Luke Cage, but his character sort of bored me in Jessica Jones so I skipped the series. I must admit, though, that I’m intrigued by his history.

Iron Fist caught my attention because the main character looks like Danny Masterson from That 70s Show, so I always expect him to crack a joke. So far, though, I like this more than the other Marvel shows.

Also, Claire Temple and Jeri Hogarth are the two best characters in the Netflix Marvel universe, imo.

/Edit

Danny is annoying jeez.