Out of the classroom and into the fray

Last March, I was asked to take on more responsibilities aside from teaching. Two senior high English classes and the Student Activities Program were to be my responsibilities.

Two months later–and a week before classes were to start–they took away my teaching load. I wasn’t sure if I should have been happy about that or disappointed that I won’t be in the classroom anymore.

I’m not sure how much I can divulge here, but let me just say now that I think I should have just stuck with teaching. I miss the interaction with students, the banter, the teaching, the learning. What I face now are forms, forms, and more forms.

On the other hand, I also relish in this new responsibility of providing the students an opportunity to explore interests outside the academe. The committee work and club work and even scouting (*sigh*) allow me to see students in a different light, and I’m grateful for this. I also love the fact that I don’t have to take home papers to check anymore.

But now I ask myself: what is it that makes me happy nowadays? I’m not as happy in the classroom, I loathe checking and–to a degree–scouting (love the kids, though), and filling out countless forms gives me migraines and has gotten me sick within the second month in this job (full time).

I’m dangerously close to quitting. I don’t want to, but I feel like I need to.

3 thoughts on “Out of the classroom and into the fray

  1. I was in a similar situation a month ago to the point that I constantly browsing how to motivate myself to continue. What motivated me to move forward was reading an article about the difference of “Doing what you love” and “Loving what you do”. The former seems to be the ideal path. But if that is not happening, we don’t necessarily have to quit. We might as well try first loving what we do and give it a chance. It will not be 100% effective but you might find something beneficial or even love your task more. By loving what we do, we should not focus on ourself, but focus on the purpose and see how we could help, influence and become beneficial to others. Once we see our purpose “for others”, we might eventually get back our motivation. But I still hope you could get back to “doing what you love” because that is truly who you are, that is truly who we are. By the way, I am also a teacher. I feel you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Richard. Thank you for your message. I have some aspects of my new work that I love, but it doesn’t feel as fulfilling. I have been teaching for over ten years, and believe me, I know what you’re saying about purpose, helping, influencing. I’m just not happy anymore. 😦

    Like

  3. It seems like you really need more time to reflect on it then. But I still hope you don’t quit. Go out. Watch the movie “Kita kita”. Maganda raw. 🙂 Kidding aside, I would say hold on. I hope your tasks right now are only for this year. Then after this year, request to put you back into teaching. I know one year is still one year. That is still a long time to wait. Pero sana huwag kang sumuko.

    Like

Leave a Reply

